Three Griffons earn All-MIAA soccer honors

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • Print

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Three members of the Missouri Western soccer team were named honorable mention All-MIAA. Goalkeeper Anna Mayer, midfielder Mackenzie O’Neill and forward Taylor Schwartzopf received postseason honors.


The sophomore’s 122 saves in 2019 were the third most ever recorded in a season by a Griffon. Missing just one game, Mayer finished third in the MIAA with over 1,600 goalie minutes played. She was second in the MIAA with 7.18 saves per game and 122 total saves, which also ranked 10th in DII women’s soccer. Mayer posted five double-digit save performances on the season and broke an MWSU single game record with 18 saves on Sept. 8 against Rockhurst.


O’Neill started all 18 games as a captain on the Griffon Soccer team this season. She led the team with seven points on two goals and three assists. One of her goals was the game winner at Washburn on Oct. 6. Her other goal came at Northwest Missouri on Nov. 1.


Schwartzkopf led the Griffons with three goals on the season and was tied for second with six total points. She started all 18 games and led the Griffons with 63 shots and 27 shots on goal. The junior had the game winning goal at home against Northwest and also scored at Missouri Southern and in the season finale against Central Missouri.

The complete list of the 2019 All-MIAA Honors is listed below.

All-MIAA First-Team 

Goalkeeper – Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Jr.

Defender – Allysa Gann – Central Missouri, Sr.

Defender – Skylar Drum – Central Missouri, Jr.

Defender – Kelsey Gordon – Central Oklahoma, Sr.

Defender – Emily Seiler – Northeastern State, Sr.

Midfielder – Haley Freeman – Central Missouri, Jr.

Midfielder – Kelsie Eason – Central Oklahoma, Jr.

Midfielder – Tanna Benefiel – Emporia State, Sr.

Forward – Makayla Toth – Central Missouri, Jr.

Forward – Asha Haile – Central Oklahoma, Sr.

Forward – Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.

Forward – Mariah Nicolet – Northeastern State, Sr.

All-MIAA Second-Team

Goalkeeper – Allie Prososki – Nebraska Kearney, Sr.

Goalkeeper – RaVella Fisher – Rogers State, Jr.

Defender – Taryn Schnell – Fort Hays State, Sr.

Defender – Molly Willis – Nebraska Kearney, Sr. 

Defender – Alex Wynn – Rogers State, Jr.

Midfielder – Nayeli Gallo – Central Missouri, Fr.

Midfielder – Haley Post – Central Oklahoma, Sr.

Midfielder – Darby Hirsch – Fort Hays State, Sr.

Midfielder – Sarah Rector – Northeastern State, Sr.

Forward – Kassie Newsom – Central Missouri, So.

Forward – Paulina Chavez – Northeastern State, Jr.

Forward – Cailey Perkins – Fort Hays State, So.

All-MIAA Third-Team

Goalkeeper – Jackie Lari – Newman, So.

Defender – Taryn Kedzior – Central Oklahoma, So.

Defender – Sydney Martens – Emporia State, So.

Defender – Jordan Ashworth – Newman, So.

Defender – Maria Stephens – Newman, Fr.

Midfielder – Kelsey Mueller – Central Missouri, Sr.

Midfielder – Izzy Romano – Northwest Missouri, Sr. 

Midfielder – Tera Lynch – Washburn, Jr.

Forward – Macy Ruffalo – Central Missouri, Fr.

Forward – Kennedy Weaver – Newman, Sr.

Forward – Laurelle Theodore – Rogers State, So.

Forward – Josie Rimmer – Washburn, So.

All-MIAA Honorable Mention

Central Missouri: Cassie Forcellini – Midfielder,

Central Oklahoma: Kaitlyn Asher – Goalkeeper, Meredith Wilson – Defender, Monika McGee – Midfielder

Emporia State: Kailey Corr – Defender, Aislinn Hughes – Midfielder, Hannah Woolery – Midfielder

Fort Hays State: Megan Kneefel – Goalkeeper, Maja Persa – Defender, Paige Utterback – Defender

Missouri Southern: Ashton Manwill – Defender, Brianna Smith – Defender, Bailey Belcher – Forward, Jessica Edwards – Forward

Missouri Western: Anna Mayer – Goalkeeper, Mackenzie O’Neill – Midfielder, Taylor Schwartzkopf – Forward

Nebraska Kearney: Megan Cook – Defender

Newman: Kyra Butler – Defender, Sarra Gutknecht – Defender, Katie Hartman – Midfielder, Vanessa Ortiz – Midfielder, Northeastern State: Leslie Munoz – Defender

Northwest Missouri: Emily Madden – Defender, Manuela Gonzalez – Midfielder, Kaylie Rock – Midfielder

Rogers State: Janell Hernandez – Defender, Anita Gaspar – Midfielder, Bria Salazar – Midfielder,, Kori Watters – Forward

Washburn: Raegan Wells – Goalkeeper, Emily Michaelis – Defender, Olivia Grasso – Midfielder

— MWSU Athletics —