Farm Bill Fails US House: Ag Groups Disappointed

(KFEQ)-- The farm bill failed in the US House by a vote of 234-195 Thursday afternoon.  For Missouri, voting no was both democrat representatives with all republican representatives voting yes.  The news brings disappointment for agriculture and ag groups.  Here's a handful of responses.

National Corn Growers Association President Pam Johnson released the following statement in response to the House of Representatives failing to pass the Federal Agriculture Reform and Risk Management Act (2013 farm bill):

“The National Corn Growers Association is extremely disappointed to see the House of Representatives fail to pass the 2013 farm bill.  Up to the last minute our organization has actively and consistently called for passage of the legislation.  We will be engaged in all efforts needed to secure passage in the House and bring the bill to Conference.”

National Sorghum Producers Chairman Terry Swanson, a sorghum farmer from southeast Colorado, released the following statement:

“National Sorghum Producers is proud of the hard work and leadership put forth by Chairman Frank Lucas, Ranking Member Collin Peterson and their staff in putting forth a fair and equitable bill.

"We are disappointed the House was unable to come to an agreement resulting in its passage, but NSP will continue to work with leadership to eventually pass a five-year farm bill."
ASA President Danny Murphy, a soybean farmer from Canton, Miss, issued the following statement on today’s development:

“Today’s failure leaves the entire food and agriculture sector in the lurch. Once again, the nation’s soybean farmers and the 23 million Americans whose jobs depend on agriculture are left holding the bag."

You can hear the Missouri Corn Growers response in the podcast section of the homepage.