Marshall wins Kansas senate race to replace Roberts

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • Print

Roger Marshall won the Senate race in Kanas to replace Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Pat Roberts. The Republican Marshall won the seat with 53 percent of the vote.

Roberts has served Kansas since 1981, starting in the House of Representatives. Roberts has also served as both the Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee and the Senate Agriculture Committee.

Marshall is a member of the House Ag Committee, serving on Commodity Exchanges, Energy and Credit, and the Livestock and Foreign Agriculture subcommittees.  Marshall represented the large First District of Kansas since 2017. 

Republican Tracey Mann won the district seat with 71 percent of the vote. In his victory speech, Mann said, “I vow to be an advocate for agriculture.”  With the retirement of Roberts and Republican Representative Mike Conaway of Texas, and the defeat of Democrat Collin Peterson, three of the top four agriculture positions in Congress will have new representation.